Shooting Up

Copyright - Douglas M. MacIlroy

Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

Shooting Up

Listened to the rain tap, tap, tapping on my windowpane…

Old, young, dead or living, the heavens piss on us just the same.

My trembling fingers, tap, tap, tapping on the syringe…

The trouble with people is that they care. ‘til they don’t.

The rain stopped. Somewhere, a rainbow shimmered into being. Couldn’t care less.

Then they came…After all… tap, tap, tapping on my door…

Just like that, the world was jarringly bright.

Too late.

Could hear my own teardrops tap, tap, tapping on my bedroom floor…

My soft sigh shattered into silence…

No blue skies up here. Only darkness.

© 2013 K.Z. Morano

36 thoughts on “Shooting Up

  1. Hi KZ,
    Beautifully written piece, unified by the tap, tap, tapping. The danger and intrigue of drug culture drew me in immediately, right from the title. Not sure where she is at the end, jail, purgatory, but it doesn’t much matter. It’s the logical place she was destined for. Great writing. Ron

  2. A story those addicted can relate to, those not addicted should read to not become additced.

    But then there are all kinds of addictions…as humans though we worry about the ones that seem to do the most harm to self or another.

    Makes one want to stay out of the shadows… especially if they’ve found a way out once or twice.
    Not saying I have worn those particular shoes…just wanting to stay in the light.

  3. You broke my heart with that one. Well-written, and powerful. Thanks for posting this.
    ~Christopher

  4. Powerful and sad. The tap, tap, tapping repetition was very effective. Especially the last one – tap tap tapping on my bedroom floor reminded me of ‘knock, knock, knocking on heaven’s door’. Apt. Well done.

  5. What jumped out at me was this million dollar sentence of yours!

    “The trouble with people is that they care. ‘til they don’t.”

    So what is the cause for this shift?

    Shakti

  6. Oh my goodness what strong flash writing kz! So sad – loved the mirrored images and repetition. Could re-read and re-read this one – great take on the prompt!

  7. Such a dark but beautifully written story. Your cadence was perfect for the piece, and the inclusion of “The trouble with people is that they care. ‘til they don’t.” couched almost directly in the middle gave this piece an honesty felt hard in the gut. In short, I suppose I’m saying that I really liked this!

  8. I really enjoyed the repetition of the tap, tap, tapping from one item/action to another. This story has a neat, dark, Edgar Allen Poe-style feel to it. This is really good!

  9. This reminded me of Poe, and that’s a compliment. Well done kz. The tap tap tapping would scare the crap outta me.

Leave a Reply

