Stop, Look and Listen

copyright - Indira by way of Scott Vanatter

copyright – Indira by way of Scott Vanatter

Stop!

A nursery rhyme was playing in the car…

Look!

That’s me on the bed…not dead, but I wish I were.

And Listen!

Should’ve listened to my husband… should’ve never insisted on driving…

Stop!

I tried to… but it was too late…

Look!

Blood trailed down my thighs in slow crimson rivulets…

And Listen!

The night swallowed my screams.

Beep!

Goes the life monitor… No! Don’t try to wake me.

Beep!

Please, just let me die. I need to be with my baby…

The small jeep…

It’s coming to take me… to my baby… Oh, but so much blood…

…is running down the street.

© 2013 K.Z. Morano

hi 🙂 i hope you’re familiar with the nursery rhyme ^^ i’m sooo behind in reading the stories from last week. just really busy but i’ll try to catch up!! thank you. ^^ xo

37 thoughts on “Stop, Look and Listen

  1. This is what makes you the writer you are, this one, solid, salient point: that when you have found your style, your way of setting out a story, a way that has quickly become popular and appreciated you then move on to something new, to try a new approach. You might not feel it, but that is a key difference with someone who churns out the same kind of material week after week, and is also reflected in your novel-to-be…

  2. Oy, this is just heart wrenching. The way you drew it out made it even more excruciating. An unusual but excellently executed take on the prompt. I salute you.

  3. Wow, that is wonderful, powerful storytelling, as always. I love the use of the nursery rhyme woven into the story. Incidentally, this is your 33rd Fictioneer story? This is my 30th this week.

Leave a Reply

