Daily Prompt: Gimme

Dear Santa,

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! Thank you for the Barbie that you gave me last year. I have been a very good girl this year. I brush my teeth and take a bath three times a day. I sleep early and take a nap in the afternoon. I’ve been very nice to nanny. And I don’t cry anymore when mama leaves.
My wish this year is a Cut and Style Barbie. I see it all the time on TV. You cut Barbie’s hair and then it grows back – like magic! And you can also color it pink. And I know we don’t have it here in the Philippines but because you live in the States, I know you can give me one. Please, Santa. I promise to be good again next year.

Love,
K

barb2

barb1

barb3

barb4

My letter was more or less like this. And no, I didn’t anymore believe in Santa then as I caught my mom putting the goodie bags underneath the tree one night. I handed the letter, written in blue ink and yellow paper that I got from her desk, directly to my mom. Who then glanced at the paper, looked at me with her pretty eyes and laughed. “HAHA”, she said, “You wish.”
I got my usual bag of chocolates and candies, a gold wristwatch, a boomerang, stickers, beach ball, shoes, hair clips, trolls with the pink hair, school supplies and plenty of other useless stuff that I don’t remember. I had a pretty impressive collection of Barbies back then but I only got them when my grandparents would send a package from the U.S. My mom didn’t think I should have one anymore as I would just cut off their heads and hang them in my “haunted house” built out of sheets. FYI though, my mom was just as childish as I remembered her drawing nipples and pubic hair (in blue ink) on one of my Barbies.

Um, did any of you have this Cut and Style Barbie? ^^ Oh you did, eh? I hate you. We’re not friends anymore. lol

Was there a special gift or toy you wanted as a child but never received? What was it?

*photos from toysrus

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Gimme

  1. Oh no no poor me, little black drake,
    I’m so sorry please forgive me, and I admit it right away
    I’ve never owned a Barbie doll – but my little sister had several.
    She also had some of those small ponies dolls, don’t remember what they were called… 🙂 😉

  2. No, I didn’t want a Barbie, but I remember that total envy when your friends got the toy you wanted.
    I kinda want a Barbie now they’ve had a makeover and they’re all diverse. They look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

