Daily Prompt: My Hero!

I should’ve listened to Homer… He’s been giving me good advice for years!

No, not the poet! I meant Homer Simpson. ^^ Yeah I know what you’re thinking… Homer’s a dumb ass. But every once in a blue moon he’d come up with a good idea… and when he does, it’s no less than sheer genius! I honestly don’t know how people could make it through life without humor. The Simpsons have gotten me through pretty tough times from my teenage years to early adulthood. I look and Homer and think man, if that birdbrain can make it to that age, have a happy family, raise a couple of kids, then so can I! ^^ But seriously, some of Homer’s advice I took… some I didn’t..

homer1

Weaseling out of things is important to learn. It’s what separates us from the animals! Except the weasel.
– Homer
Fight or Flight. It’s there for a reason. In my life I’ve learned that you don’t always have to be so brave… Just because you ran away, doesn’t make you a coward. And sometimes, to NOT stay and fight is one of the bravest things you could ever do. There really is no point in sticking to a commitment or a promise even after you’ve sensed that it’s not gonna be good for you. I’ve been there… sticking around because “I promised” or “gave my word”, only to end up hurting myself and others.

I’m not a bad guy! I work hard, and I love my kids. So why should I spend half my Sunday hearing about how I’m going to Hell?– Homer
Should’ve focused less on being religious and more on being a good person. See my post here

I want to share something with you: The three little sentences that will get you through life. Number 1: Cover for me. Number 2: Oh, good idea, Boss! Number 3: It was like that when I got here.– Homer
I’ve done the first one and the third one. Haven’t we all? No? Liars. But the second one… tsk3… I SHOULD’VE LISTENED TO HOMER. Trust me guys, it doesn’t matter whether you think that your boss has a pickle for a brain. The fact is he’s on the other side of the desk, the one with the more plush comfy chair… Sure he’s an idiot but that doesn’t mean you have to rub it in his face. Now if you can’t stomach having a buffoon for a boss, then gather the balls to be your own boss. But until then… well.. master the art of giving him the finger in the safety of your own mind. 🙂

That’s it! You people have stood in my way long enough. I’m going to clown college!– Homer
Shouldn’t have listened to my father and everyone else… Should’ve just embraced my creativity, picked out the course that I wanted then came back to force it down their throats… See my post here

Your lives are in the hands of men no smarter than you or I, many of them incompetent boobs. I know this because I worked alongside them, gone bowling with them, watched them pass me over for promotions time and again. And I say… This stinks!- Homer
Like I said, just because they’re on the other side of the desk doesn’t mean that they know better than you. You’re responsible for looking after yourself. As far as your health, safety and happiness is concerned, listen more to yourself than to what others are saying. While it’s ok to hear out what others have to say, be smart enough to do your own research and learn things yourself. Practice it in your everyday life. Don’t believe everything you see on TV. After all, everybody’s out to make money; don’t be so foolish as to believe that companies really give a damn about your health and happiness… coz most of them don’t. You want the good life? Figure it out for yourself.

Marge, it takes two to lie. One to lie and one to listen.– Homer
When I love someone, I tend to force myself to believe every word that they say. Which was not very smart of me. People lie. It’s a fact. So let them. Just don’t lie to yourself just so you can keep being with them. I’ve done this to myself so many times. Gahh should’ve listened to Homer.

Well, crying isn’t gonna bring him back…unless your tears smell like dog food. So you can either sit there crying and eating can after can of dog food until your tears smell enough like dog food to make your dog come back or you can go out there and find your dog.– Homer
Take it from me. Years of putting people up in pedestals only to have them disappoint me and break my heart. Nobody’s perfect and you can’t be too selfish or naïve to even expect them to be. You can’t keep playing the part of the damsel in distress and just wait for a hero to save the day. If you want something done, then for the love of God, do it yourself already! Fight your own battles as you can’t expect another to do them for you. As for others, well, just take them as they are. Look at Homer; he’s not the sharpest tool in the shed but every once in a while, he does surprise me. Sure his help came a little too late most of the time – or all the time — but it made me realize all the more that you can’t rely on others to pull you out of life’s sticky situations.

So stop looking for heroes and just learn to see others as what they are… human, flawed and just like you, still trying to figure out how to go through life unscathed. And who knows, they just might surprise you.

I can’t believe it! Reading and writing actually paid off!
– Homer
Received more follows. Thanks guys!

Xo
kz ^^

Tell us about your hero.

homer2

*photos from the internet

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: My Hero!

  1. Pingback: Haiku: Peace Lover… | Mirth and Motivation

  2. Pingback: Reading Digest: Reminiscing Holiday Edition « Dead Homer Society

Leave a Reply

