Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

I remember getting my head stuck between the stair steps…

I just wanted to take a look at Lolo (term for grandpa)… My grandfather, may he rest in peace, was very much respected — and at times, feared by employees and his children as well. Me and my brother always felt shy whenever we’re around him. I was scared of my father… my father was scared of him.. oh well, then, I was scared of him. But now I remember, he was always reaching out to us — the mighty businessman would get up from behind his desk… didn’t mind looking silly around his grandchildren as he unwrapped the presents that he brought for us from his trips to the U.S. (Batman, Barbie and Ninja turtles and plenty of chocolates!) Anyway, I was pretty curious about him so one December night, while we were staying for Christmas in their house in Manila, I snuck out of my room and stuck my head in between the steps to see what he was doing… My head got caught. I guess I started crying and before I knew it Lolo was trying to pull my head off the stairs. ><

I remember a few other mishaps that my curiosity has lead me to… Like the round glass table top in my grandma’s (mother’s side) living room falling on top me; I was trapped and I prolly cried in the end coz I remember a couple of men (my uncles maybe) lifting the table top off me……..etc……oh yes there were many more.lol

Oh well I was a curious child and it’s a trait that I carry even today. Anyway, that memory stuck with me for 3 reasons:

1) Though it may not be my first memory, it’s a memory that wasn’t triggered by photos or stories so I know it’s somehow important to me. I’m also very sure that it actually happened and is not just a product of my over-active imagination.( Like that time I saw a lizard that had the face of a cow on the wall when the clock struck one. I’m still torn, maybe that did happen…)

2) Believe it or not, those were memories of happier days. My father was abusive towards my mom and for a while, they lived apart. He never raised a hand to hurt me and provided well but I rarely saw him and I was a pretty smart kid so I knew what was going on. Perhaps my earliest memories were being terrified of him but learning to smile when he’s around, pretend like I’m a child and act like I’m not afraid… but well… I’d rather not remember those days…

3) It’s December… so that memory with me and the stairs and Lolo just came flooding back. I miss him. I wish I’d gotten to know him better. I wish he stuck around a little bit longer…. I wish I hadn’t seen him one day slumped on those very same stairs from the stroke that lead to his death. I was wondering why he was sleeping on the staircase 😦

Well, now that I’ve made your Christmases a little sadder, maybe my pic will make you smile at least? Yes? No? whatever, I’m still posting it. ^^

Image0372

What is your earliest memory? Describe it in detail, and tell us why you think that experience was the one to stick with you.

my hair was long.. looks short here lol they tied it at the back^^

15 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited

  1. You look so cute! My earliest memory was when my father left when I was 2. My parents were fighting and I began to cry and then they began to argue who made me cry. I ran into my room and hide behind the bed and my nanny chased me. I think having this memory made me have more memories of my childhood then most people. Many things I feel like it was yesterday I was there. I think I remember this so vividly because it changed the life we all thought we would have. I have always made sure I never forget anything, especially the bad. I even use to write important events (to a child) down when started writing so I would never forget what people did. I am not sure if this is good or bad.

    • well, i’m kind of a person who would forgive but never forget ^^ i think it’s ok to not forget the bad stuff coz there are also great memories that are connected with them…i mean despite all that stuff with my parents, i can honestly still say that my childhood rocked ^^

  2. Pingback: TORNADO MEMORIES? « hastywords

Leave a Reply

