Daily Prompt: Dear Mom

Nineteen years you had me
Your little accident baby
Thank you mama
For not getting rid of me.
How beautiful you were
And how people would compare…
And how it broke my heart
That they could tell us apart.
I wish I could’ve saved you
From the devil, mama
But I was afraid, too
And how you loved him, mama…
You couldn’t walk away
I would’ve come with you, mama;
Still, you chose to stay.
You should’ve broken free
Instead, you broke down,
And I despised your weakness,
Blamed you for your illness.
I thought, if you loved me
You would’ve been stronger,
And not make me grow up
So much faster.
I needed you, mama
When I was growing up
Where were you, mama
Why did you just stop
Being my mother…
He’s gone now, mama,
But you’re not any better…
And it felt strange, mama
For you to call me your daughter
We don’t hug, we don’t kiss
But there are times that I miss
How you taught me how to recite
“Mi Ultimo Adios” in the bath
As you lather my back,
And homework and math
And the glass of warm milk
Before I hit the sack.
I know now, mama
It was never your fault…
You were like me, mama
Forced to grow up.
You did your best, mama
Perhaps, I would’ve given up.
In your own way, you’re strong
After all, you’re still here…
Cheated death just to be near.
Oh look at me, mama
I grew up pretty well
It’s ok, mother…
We did a pretty good job
Raising each other.

Your daughter,
KZ

Write a letter to your mom. Tell her something you’ve always wanted to say, but haven’t been able to.

30 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Dear Mom

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Dear Mom « prettywitgla33es

  2. Pingback: CONFESSIONAL AFTERMATH « hastywords

  3. KZ,

    This was so poignantly beautiful. I pray the Lord touches your mom’s heart as you share it with her, and that He uses it to draw you both closer together. Many blessings to you!

    Love,
    Cheryl

  4. This is lovely and honest. It is hard when the roles get reversed. However, through your words I believe you have handled it well. Thank you for visiting me today. ~Lynda

    “…sometimes i wish we could just claw each others’ eyes out and call it a day.” A rare truism is spoken. You share so openly! I like it. :)

  5. Wow. This was so deep and honest. I pray that when you give it to your mom it opens a door of opportunity for you both. Thanks for sharing your heart with us, and I appreciate you visiting my blog!

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Me Time « The Eclectic Eccentric Shopaholic

  7. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Wrap It Up « The Eclectic Eccentric Shopaholic

  8. Pingback: Awards! Awards! Awards! | Adventures in Wonderland

Leave a Reply

